Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Antique Dell which OS to run ?

• Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#1 StressInducer

StressInducer

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:41 PM

Posted 31 December 2015 - 01:19 PM

Hello I'm a newb and want to keep an old desktop running. It had windows XP PRO UNTIL I wiped it out and installed Ubunta 14 32bit  and its running painfully slow. I can't remember if the XP was 32bit or 64bit. The Dell is a Dimension 8250 - Intel Pentium 4CPU 2.40GHZ - 513mb Ram - Nvidia graphics NV17X86/MMX/SSE2 AND 80gb HDD. The HDD was replaced 3 years ago. Thank You in advance.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadmanRB

MadmanRB

Spoon!!!!

• Members
  • 3,166 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:41 PM

Posted 31 December 2015 - 02:27 PM

Oh man such ancient hardware, one of those infameous dells too with RDRAM and when they wanted you to use dell only parts.

Hate to say it but maybe its time to retire it, no matter the distro it wont run that well on such a old outdated beast.

Especially if you need something on the easy side, even puppy will be pushing it.

You know you want me baby!

Proud Linux user and dual booter.

Proud Vivaldi user.

ljxaqg-6.png

#3 StressInducer

StressInducer
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 25 posts
  •  

Posted 31 December 2015 - 02:43 PM