Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

HP Envy 6 1105-DX Overheating Problems

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LegionSMKZ

LegionSMKZ

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:49 AM

Posted 29 December 2015 - 06:34 PM

Okay, so as a fellow tech I well understand that HP loves to release laptops with known overheating issues. From my knowledge the Envy series is just as bad as the DV series....

SO! I have an HP Envy 6 1105-DX laptop here. Great specs, horrible ventilation. The temps AVG. 64-68C between Temp1 and 55-60C GPU (The APU installed).

I have tried new TIM (Antec Formula 7) as well as verifying all vents, heatsink, and dissipation ventilation is clean and clear. Although, the temps stay the same.

Is this a known unfixable problem? APU requiring too much voltage for the cooling system? Basic research has shown this laptop sucks with overheating issues and it seems like there isn't a known fix. The unit also has a clean install of Windows 7 Professional x64. So we can eliminate infections causing high temps.

Drop your comments, lets see what everyone's got to throw in on this topic. Thanks

-Jesse

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Captain_Chicken

Captain_Chicken

• BC Advisor
  • 1,354 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:49 AM

Posted 29 December 2015 - 07:40 PM