Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 2012 R2 licensing question (Im a Newbie)

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 theguy1

theguy1

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:58 PM

Posted 27 December 2015 - 03:58 PM

Hi All,

I have never used any of the windows server products, so please excuse my ignorance.

I am going to setup a network for my office, and I have installed windows 7 pro on all the computers. I would like to setup windows server 2012 r2 so that I can have proper user management and adjust their roles as needed. From what I have read, I have to get CALs for each computer in my network. Do I need this if I have windows 7 licenses on all my computers? If so, is it just me or is it ridiculous to have to buy computers with the windows key and then buy additional keys on top of that?

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 x64

x64

• Members
  • 352 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:58 AM

Posted 01 January 2016 - 03:29 PM

You need a CAL for each user (user CAL), or for each device (device CAL), to cover each connection to a Windows server.