Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Data recovery from broken Android tablet possible?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 mystic12

mystic12

• Members
  • 1,556 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:15 PM

Posted 23 December 2015 - 09:52 AM

I have never worked on a tablet before, can anyone tell me how to recover data from this HP Touchpad's HDD please? Far as the owner knows, it powers on but no video.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 24,287 posts
  •  

Posted 23 December 2015 - 09:57 AM

I remember this device. It launched and then HP stopped sales after a few months.  It uses NAND flash RAM for storage, no hard drive. Good Luck.

You can see the specs here.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HP_TouchPad#Android

#3 mystic12

mystic12
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 1,556 posts
  •  

Posted 23 December 2015 - 10:02 AM

It's my cousin's first tablet so I am hoping I can help him out somehow, appreciate the info.

#4 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 24,287 posts
  •  

Posted 23 December 2015 - 11:01 AM

When you say it is broken, do you mean it does not turn on. I found this on youtube. Not sure if it will help or not.

Edit: It is a hard reset but the uploader says the data is still retained. I can't confirm that though.

Edited by JohnC_21, 23 December 2015 - 11:02 AM.

#5 mystic12

mystic12