Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TP-Link Archer C7 - can only connect to 5ghz, not 2.4ghz

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mreid72

mreid72

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:34 PM

Posted 20 December 2015 - 10:58 PM

Hi all.  I have a brand new TP-Link Archer C7 dual band router.  This is my first time to have a dual band router (2.4ghz and 5ghz), so I'm a little confused and having some problems.  The problem may be that I didn't set it up properly since I'm not familiar with it. 

When setting it up, I chose to have both bands running concurrently.  I set up the passwords for both bands (chose the same password for both, but each network has a different name).  The way I understand it is I can choose which band/network I want my device to connect to.  Xbox One to one network, phones and laptops to another, etc.

However, the problem I'm having is that I can't get ANY device to connect to the 2.4ghz network, only the 5ghz one.  I enter the correct password on my device, but the message I get every time is "Can't connect to this network".  No explanation as to why.  I've double checked and triple checked the password, and everything is correct.

So...why can't I connect to the 2.4ghz network?

Thanks in advance.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 moxom

moxom

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:34 PM