Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

External HD (WD My Passport) wont open...looks wiped

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 NurseJenCanada

NurseJenCanada

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  

Posted 03 December 2015 - 03:43 PM

Hi...I have read a few forums about this but my situation is a little different. I have been using 'My Passport' for 2 years-ish and have never had an issue, i store everything in there because i need all my manuals available everywhere I go...so a few weeks ago I plugged it in and it did not open as usual...It also did not show up in it 'normal' position in my pc (see attachment "This PC") it shows up as 'Local Disk (E:)' but used to be 'My Passport'

I am a little computer savy so i started to investigate fearing that it was wiped out because i did not 'safely remove hardware' (which by the way is not enabled)