Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Make a backup, secured?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 TheoV

TheoV

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:59 PM

Posted 24 November 2015 - 05:14 PM

Ok, just seen another user with a CTB encryption on his pc. No backup, all data gone :( .

Now i am wondering... as an administrator, i am making backups on a regular base. But: the backups are on my own machine, on a second hard drive. That means, that an infection with a program like CTB locker will (most probably) encrypt all of my backup copies as well. An offline backup (backup on a disk, not connected to my computer) would be perfect for this, but then i would have to connect this disk every time i need to make a backup.

This brings me to my main question: does anyone know of a method to make a "protected" backup? What i mean by that: does anyone know of a method to secure a backup in such a way that a virus or anything alike is unable to access / delete / modify it?

Thanks for your input!

Kind regards,

Theo Verkoelen.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Didier Stevens

Didier Stevens

• BC Advisor
  • 2,718 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:59 PM

Posted 25 November 2015 - 12:17 PM

You could encrypt your second disk (full disk encryption) with a tool like TrueCrypt/VeraCrypt.