Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

POST beeps for Dell Studio 540

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 wjlesaulnier

wjlesaulnier

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:51 AM

Posted 22 November 2015 - 08:15 AM

I have a Dell Studio 540 wiith core 2 quad and 6 GB RAM. I get three very brief POST beeps every boot. I'm a tech so I've been thru the whole troubleshooting routine. Beeps have occurred with different drives, video cards, mice and keyboards. They occur with no peripherals plugged in. Power-on memoery test was good. The motherboard service manual doesn't have the POST beep codes. Beeps occurred before and after a BIOS update. I'm not having any problems so I hesitate to re-seat / replace the BIOS chip. Any suggestions? Where can I find listing of POST beep codes for this PC?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 OldPhil

OldPhil

Doppleganger

• Members
  • 4,157 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:51 AM

Posted 22 November 2015 - 08:48 AM

http://www.technick.net/public/code/cp_dpage.php?aiocp_dp=guide_beep_codes

Honesty & Integrity Above All!

#3 wjlesaulnier

wjlesaulnier
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  

Posted 22 November 2015 - 10:14 AM

Doppleganger   -  Thank you!!!!!!!

#4 OldPhil

OldPhil

Doppleganger

• Members
  • 4,157 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:51 AM

Posted 22 November 2015 - 02:56 PM