Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Learning C

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 nickautomatic

nickautomatic

• Members
  • 143 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:29 AM

Posted 13 November 2015 - 03:42 PM

Good day guys!

I am a student, studying programming. I am trying to make a very simple program that I could not figure how to make it. Here is it.

program should ask 2 intergers, first will be base and second should be the exponent.

sample Output:

Enter base and exponent: 5  3

5 raised to the power of 3 is 125.
  ---

Thank you.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Nikhil_CV

Nikhil_CV

Vestibulum Bleep

• Members
  • 1,145 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:59 PM

Posted 13 November 2015 - 04:24 PM

Logic:

• Initialize Assume b is base and e is exponent in integer/double value and read input.
  • Check if b is 0, 0 power anything is 0 (except 0^0 = indeterminate form, taken as 1 as a rule) (create a user function if needed)
  • Check if e is 0, anything power 0 is 1
  • Check if e is 1, anything power 1 is the base itself.
  • Use a loop while b>0 and e>1 to evaluate multiplication of b to b for e times.
  • Display result and halt.

Libraries required: math.h, stdio.h

Default function: pow(x,y);

http://www.tutorialspoint.com/c_standard_library/c_function_pow.htm

There are links with exact programs, use google... :)