Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My DVD RW disk crashed and took my novel with it.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Gwenivere9381

Gwenivere9381

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:30 AM

Posted 06 November 2015 - 09:27 AM

Basically: I'm an author (recently finished my first book). I've been having trouble with various sorts of disks crashing, causing me to lose half-finished work. Last week it was my single manuscript file on my 16GB flashdrive. Thankfully, I'd been backing the file up on the disk I use to collect research (and an extensive list of subcharacters ranging from scullery maids to lords and their provinces) - so, I used the file on the disk (half of what I'd had done), and worked from the half of my book that remained. I started saving my manuscript directly to the DVD RW disk, and backing it up on my flashdrive.