Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Laptop Keyboard&Touchpad Not Working Anymore

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Tequatl

Tequatl

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:56 PM

Posted 10 October 2015 - 09:02 AM

I have a G72-261US Notebook that I've been using for many years now, and I recently made the upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 on it. This made the Synaptics touchpad act all funky, so I researched the internet and found a driver that would work properly with it. It's been running absolutely fine ever since, until Windows 10 decided it wanted to automatically update the driver a few days later, which made it funky again.

I tried uninstalling the driver, just like I did last time, in order to reinstall the driver I had found that works fine, but after uninstalling and restarting, before I could install the working one, the touchpad is completely unresponsive, and none of the keyboard keys work. Not even the num lock or wifi LEDs will toggle when I press them. The computer is stuck on the login screen with the time displayed on it, just before you make it slide away and type in your password to login to Windows 10.