Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Malwarebyts Pro root kit scan keeps getting unchecked

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dannyboy950

dannyboy950

• Members
  • 1,338 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:24 AM

Posted 03 October 2015 - 12:47 PM

I have been running Maywarebytes Pro for awhile[several years on 3 different machines [OS'S]

ON the WIN 10 machine awhile back while checking its settings I found the rootkit scan was unchecked rechecked it and every so often I find it unchecked again and not by me.

I run it resident and once a week run a manual scan as well.

Any idea why this keeps happening. This is starting to look like I may be infected with something or hacked again.

Both Vista and XP stared the same behavior shortly before they crashed from so much malware or whatever.

Thanks for any thoughts and assistance.

HP 15-f009wm notebook AMD-E1-2100 APV 1Ghz Processor 8 GB memory 500 GB Hdd

Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa Cinamon

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,758 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:24 AM

Posted 03 October 2015 - 12:56 PM