Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ethernet does not have a valid IP Configuration

• Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1 itsreallycheryl

itsreallycheryl

• Members
  • 154 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:48 PM

Posted 24 September 2015 - 02:11 PM

This is my first time posting. I am on Windows 10 64 bit professional. I was trying to add RAM to my pc a couple of days ago when I suddenly lost my connection to the internet. My computer is connected to the router via Ethernet and has worked fine for years. My laptop still connects to the internet via the router. The troubleshooter says I do not have a valid IP address. I have uninstalled the network adapter driver and then searched for hardware changes, which reinstalled it, and that did not work. I've tried the cmd run ipconfig /all and that just flashed something on screen that disappeared instantly. Not sure what else you might need to know about my situation, but please ask anything you need to in order to help me find a solution. Oh, and when this first happened I called my ISP to see if they could help me, and all the young guy could think of is that my NIC card might need a driver update and he told me to call Microsoft. Any thoughts or suggestions are all appreciated! Thank you.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cat1092

cat1092

Bleeping Cat

• BC Advisor
  • 7,018 posts
  •