Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


adobe exbook reader

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 somae


  • Members
  • 87 posts
  • Local time:06:59 AM

Posted 17 September 2015 - 05:04 AM

I went to a site that offers free ebooks. They also have a pdf reader they're calling "adobe exbook reader". I know there's an adobe ebook reader. When I try to download the "exbook" reader I get a warning from bitdefender saying there's malware.


The site url is thebestbookinpdf.net. They use this "exbook" reader for all their books it seems.


Anyone know anything about this site?





BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 hamluis



  • Moderator
  • 56,541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Killeen, TX
  • Local time:05:59 AM

Posted 17 September 2015 - 05:35 AM

FWIW:  http://www.scamner.com/check/thebestbookinpdf.net



#3 Helvetica


  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Local time:01:59 PM

Posted 23 September 2015 - 03:59 PM

It's a scam.

No matter what you download, all you get is a pdf (just change the suffix to .pdf and you can open it as normal) called "HOW TO DOWNLOAD A FILE FROM THE INTERNET?" containing loads and loads of mixed-up crap interspersed with fake links to what you are actually looking for.

They harvest book titles from various book sales websites in dozens of languages and on every conceivable subject, and pretend to have them as pdfs, but no matter what you download they are all the same - the only thing that is different between them all, is that the fake links are changed to include "your" book.

I have come across other places like this pretending to have pdfs of obscure academic books - and all you get is the "tutorial" on how to download a file from the internet....

And I wouldn't touch their "exbook reader" with a bargepole.


#4 Didier Stevens

Didier Stevens

  • BC Advisor
  • 2,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:12:59 PM

Posted 23 September 2015 - 04:40 PM

I downloaded 2 files from the site (with extension .exbook).


Like Helvetica said, they are actually PDF files.

The 2 files I downloaded (supposed to be 2 different books) are identical.

The file does not contain malicious code.


So you don't need a special reader to read the "books", but neither are they the books you expect.

The text is a tutorial on Google searching with different operators.


The reader (Adob Exbook Reader) itself is adware:


Edited by Didier Stevens, 23 September 2015 - 04:41 PM.

Didier Stevens

SANS ISC Senior Handler
Microsoft MVP 2011-2016 Consumer Security, Windows Insider MVP 2016-2019


If you send me messages, per Bleeping Computer's Forum policy, I will not engage in a conversation, but try to answer your question in the relevant forum post. If you don't want this, don't send me messages.


Stevens' law: "As an online security discussion grows longer, the probability of a reference to BadUSB approaches 1.0"

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users