Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Vpn server with Softether problem

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 stektograph

stektograph

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:03 AM

Posted 08 September 2015 - 12:56 PM

Hello together

I'm a beginner in network things and get to a problem which I can't solve.

In my home network, I have a server. To reach this server from the internet I thought it's best to create a VPN connection due to security reasons. The VPN server should run all the time, so I used a Raspberry PI. First attempts to use OpenVPN didn't work at all, even though I still don't see. But never mind.

Then I tried softEther and that did work. With my mobile phone I can establish a L2TP-/IPSec-VPN connection to my Raspberry Pi. I can also reach the internet with this VPN connection.

The problem is now, I can't reach my server and the other PC in my local network.

I read through a lot of stuff in the Internet. A local bridge seems to be the right thing that I need. Is that right? Some say SecureNAT does also solve the problem. But that I don't understand, why and how.

Does someone have an Idea what the solution to my problem is?

192.168.1.20                  |------------------------------|

PC    -------------------|                                    |

|   modem                     |