Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is this book too outdated?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Ubiq

Ubiq

• Members
  • 253 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:24 PM

Posted 26 August 2015 - 07:45 PM

Hi! :hello:

I'm a newbie looking for a beginner book on building a pc.

Would the one below be a good one for me? Is it too outdated to even give me the basics? Why or why not?

Also, if making another (very welcome :flowers: ) title suggestion , please keep in mind that I'm looking for a hard copy.

Very weirdly, I hate reading long books in any electronic format, and I'm looking for something I can shove in my purse and read on the train, etc. No ebook suggestions, please. That's part of why I'm posting this. Most of the suggestions I've seen in other forums have been for ebooks which I like as references, but Kindle gives me a migraine so ebooks are Reference Only for me. 
Thank you!! :love4u:

http://www.amazon.com/Build-Your-Own-PC-Dummies/dp/0470196114/ref=mt_paperback?_encoding=UTF8&me=

Machine: Toshiba Portege r705-P41, Dual Boot: MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Ubuntu 15.04
CPU: Intel Core i5 460M @ 2.53GHz Arrandale 32nm Technology,
RAM: 4.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 532MHz (7-7-7-20), Motherboard: TOSHIBA Portable PC (rBGA1288 Socket)
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics Revision 2 1720 MBytes

Speccy

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 saw101