Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Advice on new laptop

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 IT_N8

IT_N8

• Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 25 August 2015 - 05:05 PM

All right hardware techies!

I'm a DBA that has been using my work PC most of the time since my home PC is a dinosaur. I just started Grad school for Cybersecurity and will need to setup some VM's and install some tools that I'd rather not have on a work PC. As an IT professional, I know I want the i7 processor (assuming that's still the best?) for speed and performance. It will remained docked most of the time, but I really like the thought of having a large screen and a fairly slim model. For all of the newest features that I really want like SSD and Windows 10 Pro, most laptops are pushing 2k. My question is since MS is giving away Windows 10, could I save some $$ by getting a slightly older model w/ 7 or 8 Pro, then upgrading the OS. Has anyone had any issues w/ the upgrade? Also, it seems like SSD is still really expensive. Would I be better off buying with SSD already installed or upgrading that myself? I'm not a PC gamer, but really want to "future-proof" it as much as possible and also have all the features I use on a daily basis. (I do not want a MAC.) Any one have any recommendations on a great make/model or site to pick one up that would