Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Mint Swap Partition

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dino2014

dino2014

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:08 AM

Posted 16 August 2015 - 03:34 AM

Hi all,

Total newbie question, installed Mint on the HDD default settings, and it created a Swap Partition that I really could do without,as it eats up one of the partitions I really need for Windows data files.

Have seen how I can make it a Swap File instead but wondered if I can just delete the existing Swap Partition without affecting things ?  ( have 4gb of memory and do not use hibernation)

If it does and I really need to reinstall Mint (cinnamon) how do I tell it Not to create the Swap Partition ?

thanks

Edited by dino2014, 16 August 2015 - 03:35 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cat1092

cat1092

Bleeping Cat

• BC Advisor
  • 7,015 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:08 PM

Posted 16 August 2015 - 03:38 AM

dino2014, you're not required to have a Swap partition, though it'll recommend one. 

You can just install w/out it if you don't want or need it. Can also delete the one you already have, if desired. 

Good Luck! :thumbup2:

Cat

Performing full disc images weekly and keeping important data off of the 'C' drive as generated can be the best defence against Malware/Ransomware attacks, as well as a wide range of other issues.