Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Optional Updates

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 pcpunk

pcpunk

• Members
  • 6,115 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:39 PM

Posted 14 August 2015 - 07:00 PM

I am new to the world of Windows, and am helping a friend out with his pc.  I got it all setup and malware clean, but don't know for sure what Optional Updates I should install.  Can anyone advise me as at least what NOT to install?  This is what I got.  I should mention, that I just re-installed his OS via. the Recovery Partition, so all is new and probably out of date.  All M.S. Updates have been done.  I use a Logitec Mouse so I think I want that, and, they are very common.  The others I am not sure about.

qzez4m.png

Edited by pcpunk, 14 August 2015 - 07:07 PM.

sBCcBvM.png

Created by Mike_Walsh

KDE, Ruler of all Distro's

eps2.4_m4ster-s1ave.aes_pcpunk_leavemehere

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Willy22

Willy22

• Members
  • 945 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:39 PM

Posted 15 August 2015 - 08:25 AM

- I would recommend to simply install them all. Those "Update for Windows" add new features.

- Is Windows Update only recommending 9 "optional updates" ?

#3 pcpunk

pcpunk
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 6,115 posts
  •  

Posted 15 August 2015 - 11:23 AM

Willy22, I think you are correct, thanks.

Yes, only those 9

sBCcBvM.png