Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Blank In Msconfig

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 toshibauser

toshibauser

• Members
  • 174 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:31 PM

Posted 13 July 2006 - 12:09 PM

First thing is im new to to the site so this might be in the wrong forum, but if it is move it. okay.
i was clearnig out some spyware from the startup tab on msconfig, and underneath one of the ones i planned to remove{ ctfmon} is a entry with no name of given location. Is this good or bad?

Posted Image

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Albert Frankenstein

Albert Frankenstein

• Members
  • 2,707 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:31 PM

Posted 13 July 2006 - 12:20 PM

Well, it could be either, but as a rule if something does not want to tell you what it is that is a bad sign.

Also, btw, you cannot 'clear' malware by using msconfig. All you can hope for is to tell it not to auto start when you boot Windows by using this method, but it is not the preferred method of malware removal and may even make the removal job more difficult in the future.

Edited by Albert Frankenstein, 13 July 2006 - 12:21 PM.

ALBERT FRANKENSTEIN
I'M SO SMART IT'S SCARY!

Currently home chillin' with the fam and my two dogs!

#3 toshibauser

toshibauser
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 174 posts
  •  

Posted 13 July 2006 - 12:23 PM