Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading an old school computer to gaming

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Majis

Majis

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:44 AM

Posted 12 August 2015 - 09:33 AM

Hello everybody, I'm a student from Finland and just registered to your site.

My cousin have dreamed of a computer of his own but because he is young (14-years old), he doesn't have the required funds to buy an expensive gaming computer. I wanted to help him with his problem and came up with an idea. I have an old school computer which i have gotten free, my ex-GPU and ex-power core.

Here is the current build:

Asus M2N MX SE PLUS

CHIEFTEC Power Source max output 450W
http://www.pc-specs.com/psu/Chieftec/Chieftec_GPA-450S8_450W/73

2G RAM Kingston KVR
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/?partid=kvr667d2n5/2g

2G RAM Kingston KVR
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/?partid=kvr667d2n5/2g

The Hard disk is only 80gt and the computer doesn't have fans in it so he have to buy them. I have now succeed in playing Age of empires 3 and CS GO okay but today the processor went up to 90 Celsius and shut down. So I wonder that is The Athlon processor capable enough to keep up with my GPU, and is the motherboard okay. If the Processor is ok, could i solve the heating problem just by buying the fans?