Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Patching help

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Meatballs12

Meatballs12

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 11 August 2015 - 07:18 PM

To make a long story short, I'm a helpdesk technician filling in for a system administrator. I've been tasked with patching a system and I don't know how. There's only a couple guys with IT experience and they aren't much help and my company doesn't seem to understand the severity of my claims. It's a windows 7 system and I have a list of 300 patches/STIGs that need to start being installed immediately. I must not be using the corrects terms because I find little online. I was told to go to the MS website and download them from there, but I don't understand what I'm actually looking for. Thanks for the help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 TsVk!

TsVk!

penguin farmer

• Members
  • 6,230 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:05 PM

Posted 11 August 2015 - 07:56 PM

Ummm, that's what Windows update is for... assuming the "patches" are for Windows.

Can you expand a little? Are they Windows updates? Or are the updates for 3rd party applications?

How did you come by the information that you need to install these  "patches".

#3 Meatballs12

Meatballs12
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 11 August 2015 - 08:04 PM