Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Value of Antimalware Software

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 RetiredAirForce02

RetiredAirForce02

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:57 AM

Posted 11 August 2015 - 05:04 PM

I am new to Bleeping Computer so if I mess this up please bear with me.  I have a simple opening question for general comment.  There are numerous computer security "experts" that advise runnning a separate anti mlware program such as Malawarebytes or HitmanPro.  I am currently runnning Webroot Secure Anywhere, with which I have been extremely happy, which like all security suites has its own antimalware module (which from all reports is one of the best on the market).  Hence my question--is it necessary or desirable to run an additional antimalware program?  And second, if the answer is yes, which is the best?  And third, the free or paid version?  I'm sure there are as many opinions as people to offer them, but hopefully I can get a concensus.

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 quietman7

quietman7

Bleepin' Janitor

• Global Moderator
  • 51,471 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:57 AM

Posted 11 August 2015 - 05:19 PM

:welcome: to Bleeping Computer.