Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Show hidden files

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 NotionCommotion

NotionCommotion

• Members
  • 59 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:39 AM

Posted 08 August 2015 - 09:03 PM

As an administrator, I thought I was telling Windows to allow me to show hidden files for all files under a given user.  Turned out I made them hidden.

Questions...

How do I view hidden files.  http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/show-hidden-files#show-hidden-files=windows-7 doesn't seem to be correct as I do not even see the typical "Windows" start icon.

The user has done nothing, and I have all their "my docs" backed up.  Should I just remove the user (and presumably the files will be removed) and start over?

Thanks!

Edited by NotionCommotion, 08 August 2015 - 09:09 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Aura

Aura

Bleepin' Special Ops

• Malware Response Team
  • 19,670 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:39 AM

Posted 08 August 2015 - 10:38 PM

Hi again Notion :)

There's a difference between hidden files and system files. To view hidden files, you need to check Show hidden files, folders and drives in the Folder Options. From there, if you want to see the system files you need to unchecked Hide protected operating system files (recommended). Then you'll see every files and folders on your system.

unite_blue.png