Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Best Linux Intro Book for a Total Beginner?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Ubiq

Ubiq

• Members
  • 246 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:32 AM

Posted 02 August 2015 - 03:57 PM

Hello!

I'm working toward using either Mint or Ubuntu through usb while learning generally about linux. My ultimate goal is to have my home desktop machine set up with linux for my personal use.

I'm reading through some of the books in the free ebooks pin above, but I'm looking for a basic old timey real book I can lug in my bag to read at work on downtimes.

However...

There are many, many beginner books out there. I need one that doesn't assume I'm a computer master.

I'm considering the following titles. Please let me know if any of these would be good for me or if I should consider something else. Many thanks!! :flowers:

:step1: http://www.amazon.com/How-Linux-Works-Superuser-Should/dp/1593275676/ref=pd_bxgy_14_text_y

I'm no superuser. Over my head?

:step2: http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=15649152148&searchurl=sts%3Dt%26tn%3Dthe+linux+command+line

I'm really leaning toward this one.

:step3: https://www.goodreads.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&query=linux+for+dummies

Ehh, which edition? Which author is best?

Edited by Ubiq, 02 August 2015 - 03:58 PM.