Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I think Clean Master messed up my registry.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Ioana_a

Ioana_a

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  

Posted 30 July 2015 - 03:18 AM

Ok so this is my first time posting here, so forgive me if I make any noob mistakes.

Two days ago I wanted to install a new game so I thought "Hey, cleaning up my pc would be a good idea. Clean Master worked perfectly on my phone so it should do on my laptop too." Stupid, I know. I didn't even check for opinions online like I usually do.

So I installed Clean Master and made it do a scan. After a couple of minutes, it said (yoohoo!) it could free around 12GB. Since I never had any problem with cleaning everything it found on my phone, and since I was feeling to lazy to check thoroughly, I just looked around the files it would delete, they seemed harmless at first sight so I just let it clean everything.

But next time I open my computer... Surprise! "The program can't start because WS2_32.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem." At first I didn't panic. I clicked OK. The same System Error message popped up again, but for another app. And then another. And another. And then some more errors like "Could not load python dll" or something like that.