Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Server 2012 Group Policy Error

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Razoe

Razoe

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:02 PM

Posted 28 July 2015 - 07:15 PM

Hey Guys, So here is my situation,

i am fairly new to networking, i was tasked with setting up a server as DC and the appropriate roles, like DHCP, DNS, as well as a 2nd server as the file server.  The server came with Server 2012..

So, virtualization being the way to go, i enabled the Hyper V role on the Sever, and then of course created 1 VM.

Silly me created only a VM for the File Server, i called it "XXXServer3"

The host name was "XXX-Server1" (notice the naming scheme is slightly different, this one has a dash).

The host, i also gave it the role of Primary DC (Sigh*), DHCP, DNS.

I got a problem where i was unable to access the file server via UNC. I checked spiceworks forum, and i was educated on how having roles running on the host was  a bad idea and stuff. So i created a 2nd VM. Called it "XXXServer1" and enabled the same roles that the host was doing. Recreated the DHCP range etc etc. DHCP works fine, no problem.

Active directory users Synced over, no problem.