Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

HP Compaq Presario CPU Upgrade

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Danster

Danster

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:17 AM

Posted 25 July 2015 - 06:17 PM

I'm planning to upgrade the CPU on my Compaq SR1503WM, but I'm not sure what type to buy. I have very little knowledge with CPU upgrades and I need some help. I'll list my complete specs here:

• Base processor
    Celeron 340 (P) 2.93 GHz:
    • 533 MHz front side bus
    • Socket 478
    Chipset
    Intel 845GV
    Motherboard
    • Manufacturer: Asus
    • Motherboard Name: P4GV-LA
    • HP/Compaq motherboard name: Guppy-GL6E

I saw a different post with someone trying to upgrade it to an Intel Pentium 4, would that be a suitable choice?

Edited by Danster, 25 July 2015 - 06:18 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DJBPace07

DJBPace07

• BC Advisor
  • 4,869 posts
  •  

Posted 27 July 2015 - 08:25 AM

I assume this is your computer?  If that is the case, then this should be your motherboard. 

Unfortunately, there isn't much of an upgrade path for this PC.  You would probably be better off replacing this PC or building a new one.  The Pentium 4 would be an upgrade over the Celeron, but you are working with technology that is ten years old, so it may not be much of an improvement.

3939.png

#3 killerx525

killerx525