Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem with VPN and DNS resolving on just smartphones

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 marc7654

marc7654

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:10 PM

Posted 22 July 2015 - 03:18 AM

Hello,

My name is Marc and i'm new to BleepingComputer.com. I'm going to start my journey with a problem i need to have resolved:p.

1. I've got a Windows Server with VPN running on RRAS, when i'm connecting with a windows pc i'm able to go to network shares by typing \\dc01\ or \\pc01\ for example and i can connect to remote desktop by typing computer names, it's just the internal DNS (192.168.1.2) that resolves the names for me. Now the problem is, whenever i connect to my vpn using a smartphone with android or iOS for example... I'm just not able to resolve these names like DC01 and PC01.

I do have Internet over VPN and i AM able to connect to shares and stuff by typing it's 'ip address', but before i could just type the name of the workstation/client i wanted to connect to. The problem occured yesterday without any reason... I did make a few changes in the DNS for adding the google dns (8.8.8.8). It seemed not to work. But i've made a backup of my DNS settings and i have recoverd it. Now everything is working except smartphones:S.

------