Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Setting up small LAN please help!

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 juanodiy

juanodiy

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:34 PM

Posted 05 July 2015 - 09:04 AM

Hi there, I am new to the work force, recently I've been given a task to set up a small network with just two computers to a server, thing is I am not really sure how to do it, I would like to search for some help of the people in this community who I know they have deep knowledge and experience, first of all, the idea is to connect two computers to a server so in total will be three machines connected, internet connection is not needed so I want to know 
1.what kind of architecture should I use, 
2.do I need a hub?, 
3.how can I set up the IP addresses for both server and clients, by that I mean do I need to design the subnet IP's and what's a good advice
4.what about the subnet masks?

by the way the server will be running windows, thanks in advance for you help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 CaveDweller2

CaveDweller2

• Members
  • 2,629 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:34 AM

Posted 05 July 2015 - 09:07 AM

Are they connecting to the internet?

Hope this helps thumbup.gif

Associate in Applied Science - Network Systems Management - Trident Technical College

#3 juanodiy

juanodiy
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •