Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

RansomeWare / CryptoLocker Virus / *.KYKFKHA

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 dreamteam2k

dreamteam2k

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:44 AM

Posted 30 June 2015 - 11:02 AM

Hello, 

I was brought in to help somebody who got a CryptoLocker Virus. I have no prior experience with this before and have only began reading up on it since yesterday. As far as I can tell the person I'm helping has been hit hard and cannot access any of their documents anymore. They have no backups.

I am attaching a screen shot of what I see on the infected computer.

All of the files are now appended with the following file extension *.KYKFKHA

We wish not to pay the ransom but not sure how else to avoid. It is asking for one Bitcoin for payment and am looking at about a week of time in order to process the payment. 

Like I said, I was brought in to help somebody so I'm just doing what I can. I hope someone else has seen this and is willing to share their experience and advice. 

Thank you,

Jeb

Edited by hamluis, 30 June 2015 - 12:15 PM.
Moved from Am I Infected to Gen Security - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dreamteam2k

dreamteam2k
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  

Posted 30 June 2015 - 11:05 AM