Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hardware compatibility on new pc build

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Yazzafox

Yazzafox

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:29 AM

Posted 27 June 2015 - 04:41 PM

Heya!

I've decided to challenge myself to building a pc from scratch. I've got no experience, besides a couple of cpu and ram upgrades, and one terrifying bios update that left me considering therapy.

I'm not planning on going gung-ho with a build that would make Tianhe-2 look like a food mixer, nor do I fancy flashing the cash that could otherwise cover a mortgage. Right now, I just want to successfully build something that functions, and allows me to play some rather demanding games without the fps moving so slow that graphics start moving backwards.

My idea of a first build is looking alright on paper, but I'm still concerned that something isn't going to be compatible with something else, or that I'm going to fry something with an overpowered/underpowered thingymajig.

I've listed the parts that I've got my eyes on below, but nothing has been purchased yet.

Motherboard: Asus M5A97 evo 2.0

Processor:     AMD FX 6300

Cooler:          AMD stock copper 125w

Graphics:      ATI Radeon HD 6770 1gb

Memory:        8gb pc-14900 1866mhz DDR3 (2x4gb)

Power:          Powercool 750w ATX power supply

Case Fans    92mm rear