Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer Won't Start..and, Another Question!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Jus' Mom

Jus' Mom

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:36 AM

Posted 08 July 2006 - 11:06 AM

:thumbsup: First off let me explain that I am just learning about the insides of a computer and how to fix certain things. I am not up on all the computer language that everyone else seems to know. I am trying and I think I'm doing pretty good considering I've taught myself the things I do know. Anyway, if I don't get the parts names right or whatever please try to understand...I'm a 'young' ha.ha. grandmother!
My first question is about a compaq presario 5009cl desktop pc, running windows me. It doesn't start at all. No lights come on, nor does the fan.
I read all the HP site and did all the power supply tests. From what I read there I would think it would be the power supply. But, reading other sites...they say it could be other things as well. So, I'm stuck. I don't want to bother changing the power supply if that isn't what it is. Any ideas on why it won't start?