Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Total beginner with old computer. Any and all advice welcome.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TheRealJZ94

TheRealJZ94

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:23 AM

Posted 19 June 2015 - 04:43 PM

Hello! I recently acquired an older computer from my grandparents because they believe the motherboard was fried somehow. It is a HP Pavilion a6700y desktop PC. 

http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c01612549 Link to detailed information on specs.

I Have no experience in the hardware portion of computers but have recently decided that I need a much better one than the laptop I currently have. I am selling a car soon and will be able to spend about 800$ on a new desktop and was curious if i could use anything from the HP from my grandparents and if anyone had suggestions on parts or places I can find good tutorials on how to actually build the thing. Like the title said, any and all help is welcomed and appreciated!

Thanks!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 JohnC_21

JohnC_21

• Members
  • 21,664 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:23 PM

Posted 19 June 2015 - 05:22 PM

Hello, and Welcome

Somebody else on the forum can give advise on what parts to keep and purchase but I would ask if the computer powers on and why do your grandparents think its a motherboard problem?

#3 Rocky Bennett

Rocky Bennett