Posted 15 June 2015 - 10:44 PM
They don't get the password from the account. The ID becomes available for somebody to register and use. Inactive accounts are routinely recycled. It's in their terms of service or used to be, last time I read it and got the email I needed to log in or lose it. What happens is all your email is deleted, any activity associated with the ID is deleted and the name becomes available for re-registration like the previous account never existed.
The Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life.
Andrew Brown (1938-1994)
A learning experience is one of those things that say, "You know that thing you just did? Don't do that." Douglas Adams (1952-2001)
"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination circles the world." Albert Einstein (1879-1955) Follow BleepingComputer on: Facebook | Twitter | Google+