Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Backup software disabled blank password check for scheduler - problem?


  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Superbacon

Superbacon

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:01:13 AM

Posted 11 June 2015 - 07:28 PM

Hey guys,

 

I'm running Windows 8.1, AVG Free 2015 and am not connected to a domain or homegroup.

 

I recently installed SyncBackFree to do regular and scheduled backups. On first use it asked me if I wanted it to disable the blank password check for Windows Scheduler because I don't currently have a password on this profile. It said it wouldn't function properly otherwise - so I said yes. UAC did its thing, a CMD window came and went and everything was fine.

 

It occurred to me a little later that this may be a security issue. Just in case, I did a system restore and manually reverted the setting that I assume the software changed:

 

c0fa7cfbaafe0ac3fdef5276b7977c02.png

 

After the system restore, the software was still installed, so I manually ran the uninstaller. Despite all this, I've found that if I try to make a task in Windows Task Scheduler there are no limitations despite me still not having a password on this profile. I then reinstalled the SyncBackFree software to see if it would prompt me to re-run the automated blank-password-check-removal routine, and it did not.

 

It's obviously a wake-up call that I should put a password on this profile ASAP, but I'm wondering whether or not there is now a security issue with this system?

 

As a side note, when I plugged in an external drive while the backup software was installed, I went to take ownership of the device so that I could read files and I couldn't proceed until I had clicked 'Allow' on another UAC popup for SyncBackFree. Is this also an issue?

 

 

Cheers!

 



BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users