Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

i7 2600 overclocking

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Rainbrew

Rainbrew

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:09 PM

Posted 10 June 2015 - 01:36 PM

My computer posesses an i7 2600 with a hyper 212 evo cooler attached to it and under 100% load none of the cores on it exceed 56-7°C. Im a total newbie to overclocking and am unsure what the optimal temperatures would be and how many GHz I can safely squeeze out of my cpu without overheating it or significantly lowering it's lifetime. Any and all help is more than welcome :)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 YeahBleeping

YeahBleeping

• Members
  • 1,258 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:09 PM

Posted 10 June 2015 - 02:33 PM

If this is the 2600 and not the 2600k than you cannot overclock it.  The multiplier is locked you would need the 'K' versions of Intel processors to do overclocking.

#3 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,386 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:09 AM

Posted 10 June 2015 - 06:35 PM

FWIW:  Max operating temp for that CPU appears to be 72 Celsius.

Louis

#4 SEANIA

SEANIA

• Members
  • 377 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:09 PM

Posted 10 June 2015 - 11:25 PM