Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Building PC: Accidentally Made Wrong Connections and Need Some Advice

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Lxno78

Lxno78

• Members
  • 51 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:48 PM

Posted 04 June 2015 - 08:32 PM

I'm new to building PCs and ended up making some wrong connections. Here are the details.

Motherboard: msi, 760GMA-P34 (FX) series [MS-7641 (v5.1)]

First:

I had the Power Switch connected to the System Fan Pins (SYSFAN1 on the motherboard).

SYSFAN1 Pin Configuration:

Pin 1. Ground
Pin 2. Speed Control
Pin 3. "Sense" (probably sensor)
Pin 4. NC (Yes four pins even though 4 is not connected).

Four pins total.

How I had the Power Switch connected to SYSFAN1:

Power Switch Positive (+) connected to SYSFAN1 Pin 2. Speed Control.

Power Switch Ground (-) connected to SYSFAN1 Pin 1. Ground.

Second:

I had both the HDD LED and the Reset Switch connected to USB 2.0 Pins (JUSB2 on the motherboard). 

JUSB2 Pin Configuration:

Pin 1 and Pin 2. VCC
Pin 3 and Pin 4. USB0 - (for Pin 3) and USB1- (for Pin 4)
Pin 5 and Pin 6. USB0 + (for Pin 5) and USB1+ (for Pin 6)
Pin 7 and Pin 8. Ground
Pin 9. No Pin
Pin 10. NC

Nine pins total.

How I had HDD LED and Reset Switch connected to JUSB2:

HDD LED Positive (+) connected to JUSB2 Pin 1. VCC.

HDD LED Ground (-) connected to JUSB2 Pin 3. USB0 -.