Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

RAM upgrade

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Miguel_92

Miguel_92

• Members
  • 194 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:04 AM

Posted 03 June 2015 - 01:54 PM

I was looking into upgrading my RAM, and seen as i'm not an expert i was wondering if someone could tell me if my motherboard etc is viable for an upgrade to 8GB of ram? As my machine is quite slow with 3GB. Here are my specs: http://www.imagebam.com/image/9dab11413502457

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 YeahBleeping

YeahBleeping

• Members
  • 1,258 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:04 AM

Posted 03 June 2015 - 02:06 PM

Most Likely you have 4 GB of Ram installed and the system is taking about 1GB for itself.  According to THIS spec sheet.  You are not able to upgrade to 8GB of ram as the motherboard does not support it.

#3 Miguel_92

Miguel_92
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 194 posts
  •  

Posted 03 June 2015 - 04:47 PM

Thought that would be the case tbh. Might need to shop around to see if i can get a cheap motherboard.

#4 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 7,008 posts
  •  

Posted 03 June 2015 - 06:36 PM