Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Sharing Monitor between a Mac and a PC

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 bsmith6356

bsmith6356

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:04 PM

Posted 31 May 2015 - 11:28 AM

I have found posts related to this question, but none with these specifics.

I'm a Graphic Artist that uses a mac and a PC at work, and often switch back and forth depending on apps I'm using. The majority of the time I'm using the PC, which has 2 monitors connected to the PC via a DVI to VGA splitter. On the Mac, Cinema Display monitor is connected via mini DisplayPort cable.

I would like to use the Mac Display as a 3rd monitor for the PC, but then be able to use it on the Mac when I need it. I do not need them to work both ways, in other words, I'm fine with the Mac only having one monitor. 

Am trying to accomplish this without spending over $100, I'm footing the bill at work for this. I"m not opposed to a KVM box but know they're expensive. I figure that I can use Synergy for the keyboard and mouse, if that's the best way to go.

Can anyone tell me what I need to do?

Thanks!

Brent S

Charlotte, NC

Attached Files

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Kilroy

Kilroy

• BC Advisor
  • 3,461 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:04 PM

Posted 31 May 2015 - 12:38 PM