Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hard drive D disappeared, laptop only shows C

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TrishaK

TrishaK

• Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:28 AM

Posted 26 May 2015 - 01:04 PM

Hello all - Once again I'm reaching out for any help you all might have. I'm not a techie, so please bear with me if I use wrong terms for things. I'll do the best I can. :-D

Admins, please feel free to move this thread if it's in the wrong place.

I have a Samsung laptop that's a little on the older side, with Windows 7. It has two disk drives, C and D. I've seen both of them in the Disk Management screen before, and once I even figured out how to reallocate space on them. But today, after I downloaded a couple of movies, I got an error message that says I don't have enough space on drive C. OK, I said to myself...I'll go in and see if anything can be moved to the D drive. Well, there is no D drive anymore. When I click on "Computer" in the start menu, it only shows C (and the DVD drives, but I'm not worried about those. Half the time I forget the laptop even has a DVD drive, lol.). D used to be right next to C, and now there's nothing there.

Attached File  Computer.JPG   71.94KB   0 downloads