Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I want to learn windows server environments.

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 jerrymck

jerrymck

• Members
  • 66 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:05 AM

Posted 21 May 2015 - 01:14 PM

Hey guys, Idk if you have seen my posts around here as of late but I am a complete networking noob. I was hired on at a local real estate company in town to over sea the network and all of the user's computers and printers. I was extremely clear to my employer that I was a novice when it comes to networking and he said that is fine and hired me anyways and to be honest, I am getting by. I am trying my best to utilize this opportunity and learn as much as possible about this server and gain a good belt of experience operating windows server.

Currently we are running windows server 2003 (yes i know the support ends in july but we are using this only as a file server so its really nbd, I have explained to my employer the cost of upgrading the server and the software and he doesn't think its worth it) and we don't even have our users logging into the domain. basically, from what it seems, this server just acts as another computer but this one has a shared drive on it that everyone in the office can access.