Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

need advice on whether to combine 2 computers

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 denvernative

denvernative

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:23 AM

Posted 18 May 2015 - 07:22 PM

I have a 2010 emachine desktop and a 2010 lenovo.
I put linux (which I prefer even though I'm just learning how to use it) on the lenovo, and put the emachine harddrive in the lenovo with the idea I could run my windows specific hardware on the lenovo (I tried wince with apple several years ago, I didnt like it then and from what I researched it doesnt work with my genealogy software anyway.

I never could figure out how to alternate boot into windows so I took the emachine drive back out.

The emachine doesnt have an extra drive bay. the lenovo obviously does.

The two processors were similiar, and they each max at 4 meg ram. Except the lenovo motherboard looks like it has a place where one could solder on another couple ram slots (is that possible?  would it use more than 4megs ram if so?)

I am about to take this into a computer shop I cant get the emachine running now.

Should I have the emachine drive put in the lenovo and have the shop tech show me how to boot from it?

is there a program like belarc but for linux so I could post the computer specs here? (If there are even needed)