Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trying to run windows 8.1 enterprise in a Virtual Machine

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 davidbehnia

davidbehnia

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:21 AM

Posted 17 May 2015 - 07:30 PM

Hey guys first post here and thanks in advance.

I'm brand new to running virtual machines and need some help. I'm trying to get 8.1 enterprise into a VM (with VMware Player) and am currently running windows 8.1 as my main operating system. It's an ISO file and I'm aware that they generally need to be burned to a disc or to a bootable drive. Is this always the case? Is there anyway that I can save an alternate operating system on the hard drive on the main one that i'm running? Also when trying to download it, it doesn't seem to give me an option as to where it should be saved. The first time trying i downloaded 8.1 enterprise and it just changed it to my main operating system and i lost everything.

Thanks!
David

Edited by Al1000, 05 February 2017 - 01:27 PM.
Moved from Windows 8

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Aura

Aura

Bleepin' Special Ops

• Malware Response Team
  • 19,672 posts
  •  

Posted 17 May 2015 - 07:34 PM

Hi davidbehnia :)