Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Android pop-up/hijacker

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 morganae

morganae

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:05 AM

Posted 14 May 2015 - 09:29 AM

I'm good with Windows, pretty darned good some would say, but I am a total newbie when it comes to Android so I am reaching out to those of you who have far more experience than I.

I am running Jellybean (device doesn't support newer) on a Motorola Xoom tablet.  Recently I have been getting a popup that says "The page at whitcombteam.com says" and then it's pure gibberish, as if it's looking for a language module that I don't have.

All there is is an OK button, if I tap anywhere it goes to the next screen which is a clear phishing attempt and another popup that says:

"The page at www.gauwzaken.com says:

WARNING!

Your Phone has (13) Virus!

The Virus may comput you data.

Please follow the instructions to remove the Virus"

It's clearly a crappy attack, the english is all screwed up and I'd never trust a popup anyhow.

The odd part is that it happens in Firefox and Chrome.  Supposedly you can long press a notification and learn what app is sending it, that is not working.  Long pressing does nothing.

I can hit the back button and go back to my page, but not until it also opens the play store and tries to get me to download "Lazy Swipe".