Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New To linux and New To Geekhood

• Please log in to reply
79 replies to this topic

#1 Rocky Bennett

Rocky Bennett

• Members
  • 2,432 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:08 PM

Posted 11 May 2015 - 01:01 PM

Hello All,

Right now as I write, I am downloading Linux 17.1 Cinnamon. I am very new to this whole computer thing, I do not play any games on my computer. I just use my computer to surf the internet, have fun and play music. I am thinking about setting up Linux in a virtual machine, so I have looked into this. I guess that I will be using VirtualBox, unless somebody has a better suggestion. The only reason I am doing this is just for fun. I want to play with Linux and get a feel for it and maybe learn a few things. I am running Windows 8.1 right now, which I love, and I intend to upgrade to Windows 10 as soon as it comes out. But I am looking for advice and suggestions since I have not set up Linux yet, still downloading. I know my computer should be more than capable of running a virtual machine, I just built this machine and it has 16 Gb of RAM and a Haswell i5 4690 CPU. Any advice is welcome.

594965_zpsp5exvyzm.png

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 DeimosChaos

DeimosChaos

• BC Advisor
  • 1,416 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:08 PM

Posted 11 May 2015 - 01:13 PM

Hi again Rocky!