Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Is 2001: A Space Odyssey realistic?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_JWebb_*

Guest_JWebb_*

• Guests
  •  

Posted 25 April 2015 - 02:02 PM

Does anyone else have a problem with the space station docking in 2001: A Space Odyssey?

I'm not an engineer but I see some pretty obvious flaws that have always bothered me.

1. The space station is rotating pretty slowly.  Could this speed generate anything like Earth gravity?  How fast would it have to rotate to generate the Earth gravity that we see in the movie?

2. The PanAm shuttle rotates to match the space station's rotation.  Is this even possible?  Couldn't they attach some sort of tunnel on ball bearings that the shuttle could attach to?

3. After the shuttle lands an entire room is closed off and filled with air.  Do they have an unlimited air supply that that they can use for this?  The lunar shuttle suffers the same anomaly.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Bezukhov

Bezukhov

Bleepin' Jazz Fan!

• Members
  • 2,736 posts
  •  

Posted 25 April 2015 - 05:31 PM

Never thought of that, to be honest. I was more intrigued by the symbolism in that movie. For instance, if you take the name of the computer, HAL, advance the letters by one you end up with IBM.

To err is Human. To blame it on someone else is even more Human.

#3 NickAu

NickAu