Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

ElementaryOS

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Pantodynamos

Pantodynamos

• Members
  • 45 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:03 AM

Posted 05 April 2015 - 01:49 AM

Hello!

I'm relatively new to Linux, but I'm thinking of installing ElementaryOS on a partition of mine, so as to Dual Boot alongside Windows 7. I've got a spare partition of about 127 GB. What I'm wondering is,how should I further partition this partition? A little swap space, besides that, I want to keep a good chunk of it in NTFS so I can read it in either OS without any hassle. What would you recommend? How much space should I give to the root of elementary, and how much swap space, given that I've got 2GB of RAM? I'm planning on moving slowly to Elementary, so I'll be installing a few more programs in the future, such as Libre Office.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Al1000

Al1000

• Global Moderator
  • 6,705 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:33 AM

Posted 05 April 2015 - 07:37 AM

Hi Pantodynamos,

A swap partition of around 3GiB should be ample for 32-bit operating systems.

Have you tried Elementary OS on a live CD/DVD or USB yet?

Edited by Al1000, 05 April 2015 - 07:37 AM.

#3 shadow-warrior

shadow-warrior

• Members
  • 188 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:33 PM

Posted 05 April 2015 - 08:07 AM