Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My computer has been pretty slow. I've done a bunch, but at a loss.

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Expresate

Expresate

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:09 AM

Posted 03 April 2015 - 12:26 AM

So, hello. I ruled out malware pretty early on, but I'm not an experienced expert, so I figured I'd give it another shot. I really have no clue what the problem is. 

Running a Toshiba Satellite L755D laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium. Everything is out of the box except for a less-than-year-old 1 TB HDD.

Symptoms:

- Computer takes a while to startup once Windows takes over.  It takes maybe twice as long to get to the desktop than it used to, and then it may take a few minutes for me to actually be able to do anything.

- Once it has started, applications tend to be sluggish, unresponsive, or even crash (only one to do so is Windows Explorer. Twice.). Typing is at normal speed, doesn't seem affected. 

- After startup, it's not always consistent. Like, as I type this, for instance, it seems okay. 

Troubleshooting:

- Malwarebytes, Avast, MSE, Spybot, and AdwCleaner all returned nothing malicious. I ran Rkill before hand. Only active anti-malware is Avast. I use the other two for second opinions.

- HDD is not fragmented, and dskchk returned nothing.