Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Upgrading advice...

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ERDOC

ERDOC

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:08 PM

Posted 20 March 2015 - 11:23 AM

New to forum - thanks for your help in advance.  I'm an ER Doctor; can stop a heart attack, but may get shocked to death by my own computer... 

Opened the tower to find what was buzzing - thought it was the HD (so bought a 2TB one), only to find it's the video card fan buzzing loudly.  So, I need to replace it because it's buzzing and also because it's 5 yrs old and sucks for games.  My question is, what will my rig handle appropriately, and do I need to upgrade other parts so it will play games decently (don't care enough to go into overclocking, etc... just want to be able to play new games like Alien, COD:  AW, etc).

Thanks to the powerful computer brains out there!

Here's my rig info:

Computer Model
Studio XPS 9100
BIOS Vendor
Dell Computer Corporation
BIOS Version
DELL - 20101021
BIOS Date
10/21/2010
OS Version
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium

Manufacturer
Intel® Core™ i7 CPU 960 @ 3.20GHz
Clock Speed
3.2Ghz
L2 Cache Size

Available Memory
79.43 %
Page File Size
24,556.0MB
Available Page File
93.46 %
Virtual Memory
24,556.0MB
Available Virtual Memory
86.71 %
DIMM0
2,048.0MB
DIMM1
2,048.0MB
DIMM2
2,048.0MB
DIMM3
2,048.0MB
DIMM4
2,048.0MB